Lifetime VCam license that needs upgrade to remove watermark?

I have owned a VCam lifetime license, now I have a watermark with a button that says in order to remove it I need to upgrade my license. I see there is now another VCam lifetime license available for $50. Is this really what is happening? I get my existing lifetime license downgraded with a watermark and am being asked to re-buy my lifetime license at a higher cost to get rid of it?

Thank you.

Hi! Make sure to logout first then login again – that may be needed in order to refresh your VCam window with your lifetime license.

If it’s still showing the watermark, logout first then re-sync your system time. The servers sometimes have errors updating the license if it’s not synced with the internet time:

https://support.kaspersky.com/common/windows/3508#block4